For golfers of all abilities who wish to improve their knowledge and understanding of the Rules of Golf; provided by Rules guru and author Barry Rhodes.
This month we have moved away from the usual format and feature some interesting Q & A about Holes-in-One, just in case you get lucky soon.
Question 1: Outside of the USA and Mexico, a player will lose their amateur status if they accept a prize of more than ($US750), or the equivalent, for a hole-in-one made during a competition. True or False? A1: False. This limit was removed by the R&A in January 2012.
Question 2: A player played their tee shot to the left of a par-3 into a bush at the side of the putting green, and the played a provisional ball. After a fruitless search for their original ball the provisional ball was holed with two further strokes. Then the player found the original ball in the hole, did the player score a hole-in-one or 5? A2: Hole-in-one. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed that ball. Decision 1-1/2.
Question 3: What are the approximate odds for an average golfer scoring a hole-in-one, as calculated by actuaries at insurance companies that insure special prizes for the feat? A5: 12,500 to 1. On average, a player who plays courses with four Par-3s, twice a week, should score a hole-in-one every 30 years! (Reference Wikipedia).
Question 4: On a par-3 a player hits their first ball into water, tees another ball and hits it straight into the hole. They can claim a prize for a hole-in-one. True or False? A6: False. They have scored 3 on the hole.
Question 5: It is traditional for a player who has scored a hole-in-one to buy a round of drinks for everyone at the clubhouse bar. True or False? A9: True. (Reference Wikipedia). The above content has been provided to Hua Hin Today by Barry Rhodes ©2016 and may not be copied without permission. The answers to the questions have been referenced to the Rules of Golf 2016 ©2015 and the Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2016- 2017 ©2015, as approved by R&A Rules Limited and The United States Golf Association. The answers do not carry the official approval of the R&A or USGA. Check out www.barryrhodes.com