‘Rhodes Rules School’ Questions & Answers

‘Rhodes Rules School’ Questions & Answers
‘Rhodes Rules School’ Questions & Answers

Each month 5 new Questions & Answers will be shown; here are numbers 21 -25.

Norwegian Arrivals Herald The Return of Tourists To Cha-Am Every year in November a big group of Norwegian tourist arrive in Cha-Am signaling a return to the good times; we are happy to report that this year is no different.Question 20 A half-eaten banana may be removed from a bunker if it interferes with a player’s stroke. True or False? Answer: False. Decision 23/3. Note: A banana is a natural object and is therefore a loose impediment, which may not be removed from a hazard by a player before he makes a stroke from that hazard.
Question 22 In stroke play, if a player’s ball in motion is accidentally deflected by an outside agency (e.g. a spectator) he incurs a penalty of one stroke. True or False? Answer: False. Rule 19-1. Note: If a player’s ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty.

Question 23

If her ball is overhanging the hole a player may wait for 20 seconds after arriving at the hole, to see whether it will drop, before she has to count another stroke if it does subsequently drop into the hole. True or False? Answer: False. Rule 16-2. Note: A player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay, and an additional 10 seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If the ball falls into the hole after this period the player has holed out but must add another stroke to her score.

Question 24

On the putting green a player may touch his line of putt to remove sand. True or False? Answer: True. Rule 13-2. Note: Removing sand or loose soil on the putting green is one of the exceptions to the general rule that a player must not improve or allow to be improved, his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole.

Question 25

A ball is deemed lost as soon as the player has dropped another ball under the Rules. True or False? Answer: True. Decision 27-1/2. Note: When a player drops a ball at the spot of his previous stroke, with the intent to play a ball under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1a), the original ball is lost.

The above content has been provided to Hua Hin Today by Barry Rhodes ©2016 and may not be copied without permission. The answers to the questions have been referenced to the Rules of Golf 2016 ©2015 and the Decisions on the Rules of Golf 20162017 ©2015, as approved by R&A Rules Limited and The United States Golf Association. The answers do not carry the official approval of the R&A or USGA.  Check out www.barryrhodes.com