Thailand?s Passports & Visas

Passports & Visas in Thailand

Travelers are required to hold a passport valid for not less than 6 months after entry into Thailand. For travelers aged 50 years or above wishing to take retreat in Thailand at least for a period of one year, their passports should be valid not less than 18 months. Before traveling, check that your embassy can replace your passport if it is misplaced. Make copies of the identification of yourself and of your family in case of emergency.

If you lose your passport, contact the police and your embassy/consulate immediately. Passport holders of 39 countries (see list below), including the USA, the UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and most European and Southeast Asian countries are automatically permitted to stay in Thailand for 30 days on a tourist visa status (no visa application needed). This 30-day tourist visa can be extended for before exceeding the permitted period at the Office of Immigration Bureau at Soi Suan Plu.

Ordinary and national passport holders of three countries?Peru, Brazil and Korea? that have concluded agreement on the visa exemption with Thailand are permitted to stay up to 90 days. Passport holders from other 14 countries (see list below) get 15- day temporary tourist visa or visa on arrival. The visa on arrival will be provided at 23 designated international checkpoints (see list below).

Applicants are required to attach their 2.5-inches photograph with their application form. The application fee is BHT300. Visitors who enter the kingdom with visa on arrival generally cannot file an application for extension of stay except in special cases such as illness which prevents them from traveling, etc.

They can submit an application at the Office of Immigration Bureau at Soi Suan Plu, South Sathorn Road. Remark In case of extension service please contact immigration office in your residence area for example if you stay in Bangkok please contact Immigration Division 1 at Government Complex Changwatana. Alternatively, you can apply for visa at a Thai embassy/consulate in your country for a 30-day transit visa or a 60-day tourist visa with the fee of THB200 and THB300, respectively.

Both visa types are extendable within the permitted period of stay. However, it is obligatory that passport holders of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Lebanon, Sudan, Algeria, Libya, Yemen, Egypt and Palestinian States are required to file an application at the Thai Embassy/Consulate-General where they have their permanent residence. Visa extensions are available at the Office of Immigration Bureau, Immigration Division 1, Soi Suan Plu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120. Tel. (662) 287-3127 or 287-3101-10 ext. 2264-5. Whatever your nationality and travel plans, confirm entry conditions.

Official agencies in charge of issuing visas are:

1. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs
2. The Royal Thai Embassies and Consulates abroad
3. The Office of Immigration Bureau
NB. - From August 26, 2003, the Office of Immigration Bureau will require the application fees for the transit and tourist visas to be THB800 and THB1,000, respectively.
- Overstaying your visas for more than 24 hours will be fined for THB200 a day upon leaving Thailand from airports. However, if exiting the country through immigration checkpoints, overstaying visitors will be fined THB200 a day even if the overstaying time does not exceed 24 hours.
More information about applying for a Thai Visa Ministry of Foreign Affairs or Royal Thai Embassy.

List of 39 countries eligible for a 30-day tourist visa

1. Australia: Commonwealth of Australia
2. Austria: Republic of Austria
3. Belgium: Kingdom of Belgium
4. Brazil: Federative Republic of Brazil
5. Bahrain: State of Bahrain
6. Brunei Darussalam: Negara Brunei Darussalam
7. Canada
8. Denmark: Kingdom of Denmark
9. Finland: Republic of Finland
10. France: French Republic
11. Germany: Federal Republic of Germany
12. Greece: Hellenic Republic
13. Hong Kong: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
14. Indonesia: Republic of Indonesia
15. Ireland: Republic of Ireland
16. Israel: State of Israel
17. Italy: Republic of Italy
18. Japan
19. Korea: Republic of Korea
20. Kuwait: State of Kuwait
21. Luxembourg: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
22. Malaysia
23. Netherlands: Kingdom of the Netherlands
24. New Zealand
25. Norway: Kingdom of Norway
26. Peru: Republic of Peru
27. Philippines: Republic of the Philippines
28. Portugal: Republic of Portugal
29. Qatar: State of Qatar
30. Singapore: Republic of Singapore
31. Spain: Kingdom of Spain
32. South Africa: Republic of South Africa
33. Sweden: Kingdom of Sweden
34. Switzerland: Swiss Confederation
35. Turkey: Republic of Turkey
36. United Arab Emirates
37. United Kingdom: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
38. United States of America
39. Vietnam: Socialist Republic of Vietnam

List of 14 countries eligible for a 15-Day visa on arrival
1. Bhutan: Kingdom of Bhutan
2. China: People?s Republic of China (including Taiwan)
3. Cyprus: Republic of Cyprus
4. Czech: Czech Republic
5. Hungary: Republic of Hungary
6. India: Republic of India
7. Kazakhstan: Republic of Kazakhstan
8. Maldives: Republic of Maldives
9. Mauritius: Republic of Mauritius
10. Oman: Sultanate of Oman
11. Poland: Republic of Poland
12. Russian Federation
13. Saudi Arabia: Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
14. Ukraine

List of Thailand?s Immigration Checkpoints that provides facilities for issuance of visa on arrival

1. Suvarnabhumi International Airport , Bangkok
2. Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
3. Phuket International Airport, Phuket
4. Hatyai International Airport, Songkla
5. U Tapao Airport, Rayong
6. Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
7. Chieng Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
8. Chieng Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
9. Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
10. Sadoa Immigration Checkpoint, Songkla
11. Samui Airport, Surat Thani
12. Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint
13. Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
14. Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
15. Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
16. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
17. Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
18. Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
19. Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
20. Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
21. Songkhla Harbour Immigraion Checkpoint, Songkhla
22. Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
23. Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint , Surat Thani

List of countries which have concluded agreement on the exemption of visa requirement with Thailand

- Country which has concluded agreement on the exemption of visa requirement for holders of diplomatic, official and ordinary passports with Thailand and permitted to stay for 90 days: Republic of Peru

List of Countries which have concluded agreement on the exemption of visa requirement for holders of national passport with Thailand and permitted to stay for 30 and 90 days:

90 Days
2. Republic of Korea

30 Days
1. Hong Kong SAR
2. Socialist Republic of Vietnam
3. Macao Special Administrative Region