Your Country’s National Day

Your Country’s National Day
Your Country’s National Day

If you are not Thai then you will probably want to acknowledge your home country’s National Day in one way or another. Chances are that there will be a restaurant featuring the cuisine and traditional activities familiar to you. Even if you have real connection to the country in question it’s worth dropping by and saying hullo.

Chances are you will be even more welcome than usual and win some points by mentioning their celebrations. In January the two most prominent National Days happen on the same date – 26th January for India and Australia. Apart from this date, both countries share a national sporting passion for one sport, cricket.


January 26th is known as India Republic Day, honouring the date on which the Constitution of India came into force on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India. On this day, celebrations are held in all the state capitals, with the state governors reviewing a military parade and taking the salute of the troops.

Everywhere are street vendors with all kinds of tasty food, like crispy fried pappadums, sweet pickles, vegetables spiced with curry and peppers and thick sweet puddings. For the kids, there are trinkets, balloons and sticky sweets. It’s all wonderfully gloriously, noisy and colourful.


As soon as Christmas and New Year’s Eve are out of the way, Australians start looking towards the next holiday and an excuse to party – Australia Day. The nation becomes even more patriotic than usual and celebrates in a big way, with events held, often at the beach or around the barbecue in just about every community to commemorate the arrival of the first fleet on Australian soil in 1788.


The country became the world’s smallest independent republic on January 31, 1968.

The Republic of Nauru is a small island country in Micronesia in the Pacific Ocean. The island was first settled by Polynesian and Micronesian clans approximately three thousand years ago. The first Europeans to set foot on the island were the crew of the British ship Hunter in 1798. At the time Nauru was inhabited by twelve tribes which are now represented by the twelve-pointed star in the state flag. In 1947, the UN established a trusteeship over the island.

The trustees of Nauru were Australia, New Zealand and the UK, with Australia being the main trustee. In 1966, Nauru became self-governing, and on January 31, 1968 its independence was declared.